Reviews & Recommendations

Enjoy online reviews as well as Reading Recommendations from staff and volunteers at the Brewster Ladies’ Library plus what new arrivals are available at the library.

Online Book Review Sources

  • BookPage – BookPage is a monthly book review online and in print. Free copies are available at the library. Find author interviews and book reviews.
  • New York Times -The New York Times has an extensive archive of reviews, bestsellers, discussions, first chapters and more.
  • The New York Review of Books – The New York Review of Books offers selections from its literary review.
  • Washington Post – The Washington Post includes reviews, first chapters, bestseller lists, and other resources.

New Book Notes

October 2017

The Floating World by C. Morgan Babst – The story of a family set against the backdrop of Hurricane Katrina. “Deeply felt and beautifully written; a major addition to the literature of Katrina. Kirkus Starred Review August 2017

 

 

 

The Indigo Girls by Natasha BoydBased on a true story of a strong 16 year old girl who must run her family South Carolina plantation. “Readers will love discovering the amazing story of a virtually unknown girl who changed the course of history.”  Booklist Starred Review September 2017

 

 

Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan A woman working at the Brooklyn Naval Yard during WWII longs to be a diver. “This large, ambitious novel shows Egan at the top of her game. Anna is a true feminist heroine and her grit and tenacity will make readers root for her.  Highly recommended.”  Library Journal Starred Review September 2017

 

 

 

Here in Berlin by Christina GarciaA nameless traveler comes to Berlin to learn about the city. In the assembly of these glimpses, she has created a vivid portrait of a decimated yet surging Berlin since World War II, of individuality and humankind, of terror and resilience. It is beautifully written in a fluent and evocative prose. It is the story of how people live with their pasts. A stunning collection of memories, snippets, and specters.” Kirkus Starred Review August 2017

 

 

Reservoir 13 by Jon McGregor – A 13 year old girl goes missing while walking on the moors of an English village. “This treatise on timelessness and human nature was recently long-listed for the Man Booker Prize. Highly recommended.”  Library Journal Starred Review September 2017

 

 

 

 

 

September 2017

Love and Other Consolation Prizes by Jamie Ford –A coming of age story set against the backdrop of the two Seattle World’s Fairs by the author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. “Ford is a romantic rather than a realist, keeping the novel buoyant despite some difficult subject matter—human trafficking, for example. A vibrantly rendered setting adds to the appeal.” Booklist Review August 2017

 

 

Solar Bones by Mike McCormack –A Irish civil engineer reflects on his life in a rural County Mayo village.Shifting back and forth across time from Conway’s childhood on a farm through his early marriage and later career, McCormack’s novel embraces a rich panorama of working life, spiritual contemplation, and musings over Ireland’s economic woes. Deserving a readership far larger than Irish-literature devotees, this is a work of bold risks and luminous creativity.” Booklist Review August 2017

 

 

The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott – The story of three generations begins in early 20th century Brooklyn with a newly single mother and her baby being cared for by a religious community. “Everything that her readers, the National Book Award committee, and the Pulitzer Prize judges love about McDermott’s (Someone, 2013, etc.) stories of Irish-Catholic American life is back in her eighth novel.” Kirkus Starred Review June 2017

 

 

Best Day Ever by Kaira Rouda –A husband takes his wife on a surprise romantic trip to Lake Erie but secrets and mysterious motivations emerge. “This latest psychological thriller from bestselling Rouda (The Goodbye Year) is destined to fly off the shelves, enticing readers to ride along as this multifaced day in the life of the Stroms unfolds.” Library Journal Starred Review August 2017

 

 

The Age of Perpetual Light by Josh Weil – A short story collection linked by themes. “Weil’s stories are engrossing, persuasively detailed, and written with a deep affection for the way language can, in masterful hands, convey us to marvelous new worlds.” Kirkus Starred Review July 2017

 

 

 

 

August 2017

The Locals by Jonathan Dee – A small Massachusetts town deals with post-9/11 economic and social changes. “Good old social novels are hard to come by these days, great ones harder still. Leave it to Dee to fill the void with a book that’s not only great but so frighteningly timely that the reader will be forced to wonder how he managed to compose it before the last election cycle.” Booklist Starred Review July 2017

 

 

The Saboteur by Andrew Gross –A Norwegian man works to defeat the Nazis by smuggling intelligence to the British during WWII “From its opening pages, Gross’ novel grips readers as they follow the tough-minded and persistent Nordstrum every step of the way. Highly recommend for thriller fans as well as lovers of historical fiction based on true events.” Library Journal Starred Review July 2017

 

 

 

North Haven by Sarah Moriarty – Family drama emerges when four siblings come to Maine to deal with the summer house of their deceased parents. “A gifted author of singular talent, Moriarty has captured the unbearable rifts of a family under emotional stress. A magnificent debut.” Library Journal Starred Review July 2017

 

 

 

 New People by Denzy Senna –A wedding of a biracial couple is jeopardized when the bride develops a crush on another man.Senna’s fearless novel is equal parts beguiling and disturbing…a great book about race and a great book all around.” Kirkus Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

The Lauras by Sara Taylor –A child narrator describes the experience of being on the road with a runaway mother. “This story, told by the younger half of a runaway mother-and-child duo, provides an enigmatic narrator with an opportunity to challenge readers’ assumptions about family, gender, and home. Taylor gives her narrator a singular voice and dares the world to listen.” Kirkus Starred Review June 2017

 

 

 

 

July 2017

Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo – A couple’s infertility struggles are told against the backdrop of political unrest in Nigeria. “Recently short-listed for the 2017 Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction, Adebayo’s work makes a blazing entry onto the list of young, talented writers from Nigeria. Readers who pick up this debut novel will not put it down until they’ve finished.” Library Journal Starred Review June 2017

 

 

Moving Kings by Joshua Cohen –A moving company in New York features personal stories of its employees. “Cohen gets to the heart of his troubled characters, sensitively portraying damaged psyches from all levels of Israeli and American society and offering incisive social commentary on both cultures..“ Library Journal Starred Review June 2017

 

 

 

The Goddesses by Swan Huntley – A Hawaii escape to repair a family ends up creating further drama. “Readers who enjoyed Camille Pagan’s Life and Other Near-Death Experiences (2015) and the works of Meg Wolitzer will savor the slow burn of this expressive and electric novel.” Booklist Starred Review 2017

 

 

 

The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson –A family is thrown off by an unexpected pregnancy, a failing marriage, and a grandmother with dementia. “A satisfying, entertaining read from an admired writer who deserves to be a household name.” Kirkus Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

When the English Fall by David Williams –Novel about an Amish community trying to survive following a massive power grid failure.“ A standout among post-apocalyptic novels, as simply and perfectly crafted as an Amish quilt.” Kirkus Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

 

June 2017

The Lost Letter by Jillian Cantor –A woman appraising her aging father’s stamp collection finds a quest leading her to WWII Austria.  “Cantor has done her research thoroughly to produce another captivating historical novel. Excellent writing, unusual storytelling, and sympathetic characters make a winning combination.“ Kirkus Review April 2017

 

 

 

The Little French Bistro by Nina George – A woman escaping an unhappy marriage finds herself in a seaside village in northern France. “George envelops the reader in the sights, sounds, and smells of the coastal town, heightening Marianne’s new experiences with lush descriptions of Breton life. Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and Isabel Allende will adore this courageous story of new beginnings, second chances, and the power of self-love.” Booklist Review May 2017

 

 

The People We Hate at the Wedding by Grant Ginder –A wedding brings old family drama to the surface. “Ginder’s latest is a fascinating exploration of family dynamics and the complex way we interact with those who know us best.” Booklist Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis – A woman’s life changes after the discovery of her biological mother and sister. “Shalvis has crafted a wonderful summer read that will fit right in with beach blankets, flip-flops and maybe a little moonshine.” – Library Journal Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

The Templar’s Last Secret by Martin Walker –The tenth Bruno, Chief of Police novel deals with a mysterious death with ties to the Knights Templar. “The latest Bruno features a complicated but enjoyable plot, a rich knowledge of archaeology, and the reliable pleasures of Bruno’s region, including scenery, Bergerac wine and knockout dining. Another feast for mystery and food lovers.” Booklist Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

 

August 2017 Issues

October 2017 Issues