Reviews & Recommendations

Enjoy online reviews as well as Reading Recommendations from staff and volunteers at the Brewster Ladies’ Library plus what new arrivals are available at the library.

Online Book Review Sources

  • BookPage – BookPage is a monthly book review online and in print. Free copies are available at the library. Find author interviews and book reviews.
  • New York Times -The New York Times has an extensive archive of reviews, bestsellers, discussions, first chapters and more.
  • The New York Review of Books – The New York Review of Books offers selections from its literary review.
  • Washington Post – The Washington Post includes reviews, first chapters, bestseller lists, and other resources.

New Book Notes

August 2017

The Locals by Jonathan Dee – A small Massachusetts town deals with post-9/11 economic and social changes. “Good old social novels are hard to come by these days, great ones harder still. Leave it to Dee to fill the void with a book that’s not only great but so frighteningly timely that the reader will be forced to wonder how he managed to compose it before the last election cycle.” Booklist Starred Review July 2017

 

 

The Saboteur by Andrew Gross –A Norwegian man works to defeat the Nazis by smuggling intelligence to the British during WWII “From its opening pages, Gross’ novel grips readers as they follow the tough-minded and persistent Nordstrum every step of the way. Highly recommend for thriller fans as well as lovers of historical fiction based on true events.” Library Journal Starred Review July 2017

 

 

North Haven by Sarah Moriarty – Family drama emerges when four siblings come to Maine to deal with the summer house of their deceased parents. “A gifted author of singular talent, Moriarty has captured the unbearable rifts of a family under emotional stress. A magnificent debut.” Library Journal Starred Review July 2017

 

 

 

 New People by Denzy Senna –A wedding of a biracial couple is jeopardized when the bride develops a crush on another man.Senna’s fearless novel is equal parts beguiling and disturbing…a great book about race and a great book all around.” Kirkus Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

The Lauras by Sara Taylor –A child narrator describes the experience of being on the road with a runaway mother. “This story, told by the younger half of a runaway mother-and-child duo, provides an enigmatic narrator with an opportunity to challenge readers’ assumptions about family, gender, and home. Taylor gives her narrator a singular voice and dares the world to listen.” Kirkus Starred Review June 2017

 

 

 

 

July 2017

Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo – A couple’s infertility struggles are told against the backdrop of political unrest in Nigeria. “Recently short-listed for the 2017 Bailey’s Women’s Prize for Fiction, Adebayo’s work makes a blazing entry onto the list of young, talented writers from Nigeria. Readers who pick up this debut novel will not put it down until they’ve finished.” Library Journal Starred Review June 2017

 

 

Moving Kings by Joshua Cohen –A moving company in New York features personal stories of its employees. “Cohen gets to the heart of his troubled characters, sensitively portraying damaged psyches from all levels of Israeli and American society and offering incisive social commentary on both cultures..“ Library Journal Starred Review June 2017

 

 

 

The Goddesses by Swan Huntley – A Hawaii escape to repair a family ends up creating further drama. “Readers who enjoyed Camille Pagan’s Life and Other Near-Death Experiences (2015) and the works of Meg Wolitzer will savor the slow burn of this expressive and electric novel.” Booklist Starred Review 2017

 

 

 

The Almost Sisters by Joshilyn Jackson –A family is thrown off by an unexpected pregnancy, a failing marriage, and a grandmother with dementia. “A satisfying, entertaining read from an admired writer who deserves to be a household name.” Kirkus Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

When the English Fall by David Williams –Novel about an Amish community trying to survive following a massive power grid failure.“ A standout among post-apocalyptic novels, as simply and perfectly crafted as an Amish quilt.” Kirkus Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

 

June 2017

The Lost Letter by Jillian Cantor –A woman appraising her aging father’s stamp collection finds a quest leading her to WWII Austria.  “Cantor has done her research thoroughly to produce another captivating historical novel. Excellent writing, unusual storytelling, and sympathetic characters make a winning combination.“ Kirkus Review April 2017

 

 

 

The Little French Bistro by Nina George – A woman escaping an unhappy marriage finds herself in a seaside village in northern France. “George envelops the reader in the sights, sounds, and smells of the coastal town, heightening Marianne’s new experiences with lush descriptions of Breton life. Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and Isabel Allende will adore this courageous story of new beginnings, second chances, and the power of self-love.” Booklist Review May 2017

 

 

The People We Hate at the Wedding by Grant Ginder –A wedding brings old family drama to the surface. “Ginder’s latest is a fascinating exploration of family dynamics and the complex way we interact with those who know us best.” Booklist Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

Lost and Found Sisters by Jill Shalvis – A woman’s life changes after the discovery of her biological mother and sister. “Shalvis has crafted a wonderful summer read that will fit right in with beach blankets, flip-flops and maybe a little moonshine.” – Library Journal Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

The Templar’s Last Secret by Martin Walker –The tenth Bruno, Chief of Police novel deals with a mysterious death with ties to the Knights Templar. “The latest Bruno features a complicated but enjoyable plot, a rich knowledge of archaeology, and the reliable pleasures of Bruno’s region, including scenery, Bergerac wine and knockout dining. Another feast for mystery and food lovers.” Booklist Starred Review May 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

June 2017 Issues

April 2017 Issues