Search Tools for Readers

Photo of Rear of Library

This page is designed to assist book lovers in their search for information in the library and online.  
All books listed here are available at the Brewster Ladies Library.

Table of Contents

Search the CLAMS Catalog  

 

Books about Books

Reading Group Choices: Selections for Lively Book Discussions. Paz & Associates. Published every year this guide offers a diverse selection of current book titles, a brief biographical sketch of the author and a list of discussion questions.

The Readers' Choice: 200 Book Club Favorites. Victoria Golden McMains. New York: Quill, 2000. Includes well-know favorites as well as little known gems arranged alphabetically by author, with a description followed by several questions to provide food for thought.

The Book Lover's Guide to the Internet. Evan Morris. New York: Ballantine Publishing, 1998. Learn how to find books, magazines, newspapers, bookstores, and libraries on the Internet. Chapter 7 is devoted to Online Resources for book lovers.

Genreflecting: A Guide to Reading Interests in Genre Fiction. 5th ed. Diana Tixier Herald. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 2000. Each chapter gives an overview of popular genres, bibliographies for subgenre, author and title listings. Selected titles are annotated.

The Reading List. Contemporary Fiction: A Critical Guide to the Complete Works of 110 Authors. David Rubel, ed. New York: H. Holt, 1998. A small eclectic sampling of contemporary literary fiction with a brief plot summary excerpts from major reviews, and a short biography of the author.

The Best Novels of the Nineties: A Reader's Guide. Linda Parent Lasher. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2000. Titles are organized under eight thematic categories. Entries are arranged alphabetically by author within each section. Each entry contains a one-paragraph summary of the book, review excerpts, and biographical information.

Sequels: An Annotated Guide to Novels in Series. 3rd ed. Janet and Jonathan Husband. Chicago: ALA, 1997.

Sacred Fire: The QBR 100 Essential Black Books. Max Rodriquez, ed. New York: John Wiley, 1999. Divided into six thematic categories, the books are excerpted and highlighted with commentary.

The Oxford Companion to African American Literature. William L. Andrew, ed. Arranged alphabetically, readers can easily look up the title of work, author, or topic. Cross-referenced to help readers follow an inquiry to related information. 

New York Times Book Review. Published weekly the library keeps the current year plus two previous years. Ask the Reference Librarian for assistance.

BookPage. "BookPage" is a monthly magazine that provides information about newly published fiction and non-fiction books. Free copies are available at the library.

Back to Top


Books about Authors

Contemporary Novelists. 6th ed. Susan W. Brown, ed. New York: St. James Press, 1996. Arranged alphabetically, the entries contain a biography, bibliography, and a signed essay.

About the Author. Alfred and Emily Glassbrenner. Arranged alphabetically. Each entry contains a photograph of the author, biographical highlights, publisher contacts, best of the net, and a list of read-alikes.

Back to Top


Book Club Web Resources

General

Bookletters - This link to BookLetters is provided by the Hyannis Public Library, and offers reviews, best-seller lists, awards, and author information.

Bookreporter.com - http://www.bookreporter.com offers new book information, reading lists, book news, and literary events.

BookSpot.com - http://www.bookspot.com is a free resource center that simplifies the search for book related content on the web. It is a well-organized site. Categories include What to Read, Genre Corner, Where to Buy.... Find book reviews, author information, publishers and much more.

NoveList - NoveList is a fiction database that can help you find book to read.  You can search by author, title, series name and subject.  
You will need your library bar code, found on the reverse of your CLAMS card, to access this database.

Overbooked - http://www.overbooked.org features fiction and non-fiction titles that have received starred reviews. Some are linked to a read-a-likes or booklists. This site is useful for avid readers and book clubs because it offers access to many other book related links.

Reading Group Choices Online - http://www.readinggroupchoices.com includes a directory of guides available from publishers as well as guides that can be printed directly from the site.

Book Stores

Amazon. com - http://www.amazon.com is an online bookstore that includes both in -print and out -of -print books.

Barnes & Noble - http://www.bn.com is the chain's online counterpart.

Borders - http://www.borders.com is the chain's online counterpart.

Bibliofind - http://www.bibliofind.com has old, used and rare books from booksellers around the world.

Publishers

Publishers' Catalog - http://www.lights.com/publisher/ includes links to publishers worldwide. Search alphabetically or by topic.

Book Reviews

New York Times - http://www.nytimes.com/books has an extensive archive of reviews, bestsellers, discussions, first chapters and more.

The New York Review of Books - http://www.nybooks.com/nyrev/index.html offers selections from its literary review.

Washington Post - http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/style/books/ includes reviews, first chapters, bestseller lists, and other resources.

Booklist - http://www.ala.org/booklist/index.html is the digital counterpart to Booklist magazine. Includes brief reviews on a wide range of new books.

Book Awards

National Book Awards - http://www.nationalbook.org includes award winners from 1950 to the present in fiction, non -fiction, young people's literature and poetry.

Nobel Prize - http://www.nobel.se is the official site of the Nobel Foundation. It offers biographical information for all winners.

Pulitzer Prize - http://www.pulitzer.org contains profiles of recent winners and a list of past recipients.

Newbery Medal - http://www.ala.org/alsc/newbery.html offers information on current and past Medal winners for their contribution to children's literature.

Caldecott Medal - http://www.ala.org/alsc/caldecott.html is awarded for the most distinguished American picture book for children. Find current and past winners.

Authors

BookPage - http://www.bookpage.com is the online version BookPage a monthly book review. Free copies are available at the library. Find author interviews and book reviews beginning with the January 1996 issue.

Gale Infotrac Databses - http://mblc.state.ma.us/cgi-bin/remote.pl is an online database offering book searches, magazines and newspapers, and e-books. You will need your CLAMS card pin number to access this site.

Back to Top